Kasi Aysola


Kasi Aysola is the Co-Founder/Co-Artistic Director of Prakriti Dance. Kasi is a rising Bharata Natyam dancer, choreographer, and nattuvanar who trained under his Guru, Viji Prakash, for over ten years and is now under the mentorship of Mythili Prakash. Kasi has been privileged to learn with many leading exponents of Bharata Natyam. He has performed solo and group work in the US, India and abroad. A versatile and composite artist, Kasi continues to further his study of classical Indian dance and music. He is a Kuchipudi disciple of the late Guru Sri Vempati Ravi Shankar. Kasi continues his learning in Kuchipudi under Smt Yamini Saripalli.

Kasi will perform pieces from the Bharatanatyam repertoire:
This piece comes from the traditional repertoire of Bharata Natyam. The dancers limbs shift through multiple postures as if signifying the blossoming of a lotus flower.
Tala: Misrachapu
Musicians in Recording: Kasi Aysola (Nattuvangum), Ramya S. Kapadia (Vocal), V. Vedakrishnan (Mridangam), Embar Kannan (Violin)

Water covered the land and the skies as if one. Like the sun and moon create day and night marking time, water cycles creating life and marking existence. Layers of ocean water rise up and impregnate the clouds leaving them dark and heavy. As the horizon consumes the light of day, darkness spreads. The white light of the moon pierces the black night like the shinning discus wielded by Tirumal’s dark hand. With glimmering lighting and the roaring rhythm of thunder, cool drops of rain make their journey back down to the earth. Dense forests become lush with the fragrance of jasmine intoxicating the lover who awaits her beloved. Without subsiding, the rains cause flood waters to swell where elephants wade. They intertwine trunks as if joining hands.

Lyrics: Sangam Poetry
Music Composition: Ramya S. Kapadia
Musicians in Recording: Kasi Aysola (Nattuvangum), Ramya S. Kapadia (Vocal), Karthick
Narayanan (Mridangam), Anjna Swaminathan (Violin)

A vibrant piece which uses technical dance to explore the nuances of rhythm and melody.
Composition: Lalgudi Jayaraman
Musicians in Recording: Kasi Aysola (Nattuvangum), Ramya S. Kapadia (Vocal), V. Vedakrishnan (Mridangam), Embar Kannan (Violin)